Board of Directors


J.S.F. Dunlop (Chairman)
D.I. Chalmers (Managing Director)
I.J. Gandel (Non executive Director)
A.D. Lethlean (Non executive Director)

Company Secretary

K.E.V. Brown

Particulars of Directors

 John Dunlop


John Stuart Ferguson Dunlop (Non-Executive Chairman)

Appointed director and Chairman 3 July 2006.

Mr Dunlop is a consultant mining engineer with over 45 years surface and underground mining experience in both Australia and overseas. He is a former director of the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy (2001 - 2006) and is currently the chairman of MICA (Mineral Industry Consultants Association). Mr Dunlop is non-executive chairman of Alliance Resources Limited (appointed 30 November 1994). Recently, he has also been a non-executive director of Copper Strike Limited (9 November 2009 – 6 June 2014) and a director of Gippsland Limited (1 July 2005 - 12 July 2012). Mr Dunlop is also a certified arbitrator and mineral asset valuer and consults widely overseas.

Mr Dunlop is a member of the Audit Committee and chairman of the Remuneration and Nomination Committees.

 Ian Chalmers


David Ian Chalmers (Managing Director)

Appointed director 10 June 1986, appointed Managing Director 5 October 2006

Mr Chalmers is a geologist and graduate of the Western Australia Institute of Technology (Curtin University) and has a Master of Science degree from the University of Leicester in the United Kingdom. He has worked in the mining and exploration industry for over 40 years, during which time he has had experience in all facets of exploration and mining through feasibility and development to the production phase. Mr Chalmers was Technical Director until his appointment as Managing Director in 2006, overseeing the group's minerals exploration efforts across New South Wales, Western Australia, Indonesia and New Zealand and the development and operations of the Peak Hill Gold Mine (NSW). Since taking on the role as chief executive he has steered the Company through construction and development of the now fully operational Tomingley Gold Operations and to the threshold of development of the world class Dubbo Project.

Mr Chalmers is a member of the Nomination Committee.

 Ian Gandel


Ian Jeffrey Gandel (Non-Executive Director)

Appointed director 24 July 2006

Mr Gandel is a successful Melbourne based businessman with extensive experience in retail management and retail property. He has been a director of the Gandel Retail Trust and has had an involvement in the construction and leasing of Gandel shopping centres. He has previously been involved in the Priceline retail chain and the CEO chain of serviced offices. Through his private investment vehicles, Mr Gandel has been an investor in the mining industry since 1994. Mr Gandel is currently a substantial holder in a number of publicly listed Australian companies and, through his private investment vehicles, now holds and explores tenements in his own right in Western Australia. Mr Gandel is a non-executive director of Alliance Resources Ltd (appointed 15 October 2003) and Alkane Resources Ltd (appointed on 24 July 2006).

Mr Gandel is a member of the Audit, Remuneration and Nomination Committees.

 Tony Lethlean


Anthony Dean Lethlean (Non-Executive Director)

Appointed director 30 May 2002

Mr Lethlean is a geologist with over 10 years' mining experience, including 4 years underground on the Golden Mile in Kalgoorlie. In later years, he has worked as a resources analyst with various stockbrokers and investment banks including CIBC World Markets. He was a founding director of Helmsec Global Capital Limited which seeded, listed and funded a number of companies in a range of commodities. He retired from the group in 2014. He is also a non-executive director of Alliance Resources Ltd (appointed 15 October 2003).

Mr Lethlean is senior independent director, chairman of the Audit Committee and a member of the Remuneration and Nomination Committees.


 Karen Brown

Karen Elizabeth Vere Brown
BEc (Hons)

Ms Brown is an honours graduate in economics from the University of Western Australia and is a director of Mineral Administration Services Pty Ltd which provides company secretarial, accounting, treasury and financial administration services to a number of listed public companies primarily in the resources sector.